College Council

School councils play a key role in Victorian government schools. Participating as a school council member is a rewarding and challenging experience. The school council supports the principal to provide the b​​est possible educational outcomes for students.

School council membership

A school council's constituting order specifies the total size of the council and the number of members in each category. Most members of a school council are parents of children at the school. A smaller number of members are Department employee members, usually school staff. Government schools with a student cohort of year 7 and above will have two student positions on council. Other members can be co-opted by the council within the limits of the constituting order.

Membership categories

  • A mandated elected parent category: because parents have such an important part to play in schools, there is an elected parent member category. Parent members must comprise more than one-third of council's total membership. Department employees are eligible to be parent members at their child's school, as long as they do not work at the particular school.
  • A mandated elected Department employee category: Department employees include staff members at the school. Members of this category may make up no more than one third of the total membership of school council. As the executive officer, the principal of the school is automatically one of these members.
  • A mandated student member category (2 positions): all schools with year 7 students and above have a mandated student member category. Students in year 7 and above enrolled at the school are eligible to nominate for membership.
  • An optional community member category: members are co-opted by the council because of their special skills, interests or experience. Department employees are not eligible to be community members.

2022 College Council members 





Executive Officer

Andrew McNeil



Parent elected members


Glenn Bartlett
James Chan

Katherine Harding
Gary  Howell(President)    

Vittoria O'Brien 


Parent members must make up more than one-third of the total membership. DE employees can be parent members at their child’s school as long as they are not employed at the school.

DET elected members

Sandra Greenhill

Mary Eade  

Conor Sheehan (Treasurer)

DE employee members make up no more than one-third of the total membership. The principal is automatically one of the DE employee members.


Community elected members

Martina Johnson (Vice President)

Keira Singleton
(2023 College Captain)

Geoff Spicer (PFA)

Rory Spicer

(2023 College Captain)       

Members of this category are appointed by a College Council decision based on their special skills, interest and experience. DE employees are ineligible for this category.


Student elected members

Emily Li

Ryan Li

There are two student members who are elected to council by their peers. Any student in Years 7-12 is eligible to nominate.




College Council minutes


College Council minutes 12 September 2023

College Council minutes 15 August 2023

College Council minutes 13 June 2023

College Council minutes 16 May 2023

College Council minutes 21 March 2023

College Council Public Reporting meeting 21 March 2023

College Council minutes 21 February 2023